Rock Out

On the rock tip, I’m feeling these artists/videos right now.

Vampire Weekend – “A-Punk”

The latest indie band to gain recognition through their large online/blog following, Vampire Weekend consists of some preppy college white guys who are influenced by African pop music/rhythms. That description automatically turns me off, but their songs are damn catchy and this video is damn cool. Call me trendy I guess.

The Black Lips – “Veni Vidi Vici”

A local Atlanta band that I’m digging. The song lyrics and video deal with religious fanaticism/violence in either a subtle or overt way, depending on how you look at it. A bunch of religious symbols/logos flash throughout the video and eventually burn up, possibly signifying violence and destruction. But then, they reform, possibly signifying hope?

Of Montreal – “Gronlandic Edit”

Contrary to their name, this band is actually from Athens, GA here in the dirty dirty. They’ve got this techno-pop sound that I guess wouldn’t classify as straight forward rock, but is damn catchy nonetheless. And the video is bananas. Acid trip, anyone?

Bloc Party – “Hunting for Witches”

This one’s a little older but I love that the lyrics to the song deal with fear instigated by the media, government, the War on Terror, etc. and brings a nice energy to it. Plus, you know I got love for a talented band with a Black lead singer (Kele Okereke) and a Hapa drummer (Matt Tong) that has achieved relatively mainstream success.

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings ~ “100 Days, 100 Nights”

Not so much rock as it is jazzy/soulful/funky shit, I feel it can be included since what we think of as rock was appropriated from jazzy/soulful/funky shit. Sharon Jones has apparently been doing her thing since the ’70s, but I only got to know her recently through her latest incarnation as Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings. The “100 Days, 100 Nights” album is fuckin awesome, real soulful, motownish slap to groove to.

2 responses to “Rock Out

  1. I luh Sharon Jones. Luh HUH.

  2. Yeah man, I’ve been sleeping on her for way too long, but now I’m fully awake.

Leave a Reply

