Debating the Role of Third Parties in the U.S.

Below is a segment (broken up into 5 parts, about 7 minutes each) from the DVD of the film, “An Unreasonable Man,” about Ralph Nader. Pretty interesting stuff. As the Democratic nomination looks to be tilting definitively in Obama’s favor, it makes you think about the overall state of the US political system. I am so over the Democratic party.

Part 1 of 5

Part 2 of 5

Part 3 of 5

Part 4 of 5

Part 5 of 5

3 responses to “Debating the Role of Third Parties in the U.S.

  1. Pingback: Politics in America » Debating the Role of Third Parties in the U.S.

  2. who woulda thought that Phil Donahue could be such a thoughtful dude? Crazy. I only watched the first 2 segments, but thank you for posting this. Maybe if Obama wins, it means the possibility of a mindshift that would allow the two “constitutional parties,” to be the Democrats and the Green Party instead of the Dems and Republicans (though my skeptical ass thinks: not in a million years).

    I actually watched this movie with Aki and our uncle not too long ago, and it made me hella sad that avote for someone as amazing and righteous as Nader is to “throw your vote away.”

    I don’t know how were gonna change that ish. Maybe I need to rewatch it again and gain more perspective, because I generally feel pretty damn hopeless most of the time about psotivie change and am usually thinking more about how I can keep things from getting worse.

    So cynical,
    C+

  3. That whole “thinking more about how I can keep things from getting worse” is exactly what the Democrats want you to think, C, so folks can be so scared of the Republicans that they will continue to vote for the Dems. The thing I’ve been asking myself is, have the small, marginal ‘good’ things the Dems have done in the last 20 years really been that good? Especially in relation to all the terrible shit they have sided with the Republicans on? Are they really that different from the Repubs?

    I don’t think so. We still don’t have single payer universal health care. We still have the craziest prison industrial and military industrial complexes (Bill Clinton made these WORSE than the Republicans have).

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m an Obama supporter, but I’ve seen enough of how willing he is to bow to the special interests to know that he has committed himself more to “playing the game” than to real progressive change.

    The answer i’m convinced of, C, is to start small, with our own people/communities. What if we could build a progressive political party for the yay area? Get a majority of city council seats in Richmond/Oakland/etc. and go from there. Dream about it a little, man, I know I am…

    Also, definitely peep Nader’s memoir of the 2000 election, “Crashing the Party.” It gives some really dope concrete reforms we should be fighting for.

    Peace,

    KC

Leave a Reply

