Governor Charles?

Interesting interview with Sir Charles at the DNC the other day, in which he mentioned his interest in possibly running for governor of Alabama. I liked how he talked about being a registered Independent, how the two parties are so corrupt, and how he would really like to run as an Independent. Anyone who’s talked to me throughout the election circus this year knows how fed up I am with the Democratic party.

I was always under the impression that Charles was a Republican, so I looked at his wikipedia entry and was pretty surprised about the details of his politics. In his words:

“I was a Republican until they lost their minds, “The word ‘conservative’ means ‘discriminatory,’ practically. It’s a form of political discrimination. What do the Republicans run on? Against gay marriage and for a war that makes no sense. A war that was based on faulty intelligence. That’s all they ever talk about. That and immigration. Another discriminatory argument for political gain.

“…I’m serious. I’ve got to get people to realize that the government is full of it. Republicans and Democrats want to argue over stuff that’s not important, like gay marriage or the war in Iraq or illegal immigration… When I run – if I run – we’re going to talk about real issues like improving our schools, cleaning up our neighborhoods of drugs and crime and making Alabama a better place for all people.”

Interesting. He apparently has publicly announced running for governor in 2014 as an Independent, again citing his frustration with conservatives and Republicans, calling them “fake Christians.” When asked to elaborate, he said:

“Well, I think they — they want to be judge and jury. Like, I’m for gay marriage. It’s none of my business if gay people want to get married. I’m pro-choice. And I think these Christians — first of all, they’re supposed to be — they’re not supposed to judge other people. But they’re the most hypocritical judge of people we have in this country. And it bugs the hell out of me. They act like they’re Christians. And they’re not forgiving at all.”

A conservative guy who is pro-choice, pro-gay marriage, against the Iraq War, doesn’t really think illegal immigration is a big deal, and wants to improve schools? Interesting. Charles does commentary for NBA games at the TNT studios in Atlanta, so I always expect to see him walking around downtown sometimes. Haven’t seen him yet, but I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for his possible gubernatorial run.

5 responses to “Governor Charles?

  1. All we need is a voluntary, free-spirited, open-ended program of procreative racial deconstruction. Everybody just gotta keep fuckin’ everybody ’til they’re all the same color.Warren Beatty, Bulworth, 1998

  2. Haha, I have to watch Bulworth again. Although it would be nice if it were that simple, the reality is that “procreative racial deconstruction” would probably lead to a society of various shades of beige, with the lighter beige people in power and the darker beige people oppressed. Thanks for stopping through.

  3. How about everybody fucking everybody racist up instead?

    Interesting about Sir Charles though, will have to perk up my ears a bit more if he decides to run.

  4. I can’t wait to hear all the crazy things he says!!!!

Leave a Reply

